Water Heater Program

staying in hot water is now a PLUS!


Water Heater Program


Discover the value of    co-op membership!



Coop Connections

Discover the value of Co-op Connections


Coop Connections

Youth Programs

Scholarships, Washington Youth Tour


Youth Programs


April 30, 2016



Run United

Stay Connected with Facebook, Twitter, or emails updates:

Receive Email Updates

AEC’s 2012 Annual Meeting a family celebration
PDF Print E-mail

Aiken Electric Cooperative, a Touchstone Energy Cooperative, held its 74th Annual Meeting Saturday, May 19, 2012. 3,723 member-owners registered and family members enjoyed the many festivities. The meeting was highlighted with energy-saving themes, music and door prizes.

Four incumbent candidates for the Board of Trustees were re-elected during the Annual Meeting. The Board members re-elected are: Raymond A. Hutto, Trustee District No. 6; P. Edward Swartz, Trustee District No. 8; O. Dewitt Livingston, Trustee District No. 9 and Robert Curry, Trustee-At-Large.

Special guests in attendance included: Congressmen Joe Wilson; Senators Shane Massey and Nikki Setzler; Representatives Roland Smith, Bill Clyburn, Bill Hixon, Bill Taylor and Tom Young, Aiken County; Aiken County Administrator, Clay Killian; Aiken County Chairman, Ronnie Young; Aiken County Council members Kathy Rawls and Charles Barton; Aiken City Council, Don Wells; former Aiken City Council member, Beverly Clyburn; and Edgefield County Council, Norman Dorn. Also attending were Mayor of Burnettown, C.H Williams, Mayor of Swansea, Ray Spires; Aiken County School Board, Wesley Hightower; and Will Williams, Director Economic Development Partnership. Congressman Wilson led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance before the annual meeting was conducted.

Women Involved in Rural Electrification, (WIRE), provided refreshments for the attendees and Jeff Little and Wayne Henderson provided entertainment.

Displays included Aiken County United Way agencies, a “Help My House”on-bill finance program, indigenous reptiles and wildlife from the Savannah River Ecology Lab, a hydrogen truck and a hydrogen cell from the Center for Hydrogen Research Lab. Activities for the day also included face painting, a health fair by Aiken Regional Hospital and unique balloons made by Tom Brandner (alias Cat in the Hat) and friends. Members donated four 60 pound canned food barrels to the Golden Harvest Food Bank and over $300 to United Way Aiken County agencies. Thirty-three members signed up for Aiken Electric’s Operation Round Up program, where revenue from rounding electric statements up to the nearest dollar has resulted in over $400,000 distributed to community members in times of need.

In keeping with Aiken Electric’s annual meeting policy, after registering, members do not have to be present to win the grand prizes or special door prizes. Aiken Electric Cooperative awarded three grand prizes this year: Roy Fields of Graniteville won the John Deere lawn tractor, James Johnson and Barron Koon of Aiken each won a $1,200 electric service credit.

Aiken Electric, a Touchstone Energy cooperative, is a not-for-profit utility that strives to provide reliable, competitively priced energy and other services desired by their members. The co-op serves over 45,000 customers in a nine county area.



Roy Fields of Graniteville won Aiken Electric Cooperative’s Annual Meeting grand prize. Fields, on the John Deere lawn tractor from Derrick Equipment, has been an AEC member for 48 years.